Alert: Francois cancels auctions of Stolen Domains

If you bid on any of the following domains on the marketplace – operated by domain entrepreneur Francois Carrillo – you’d be notified that the auctions are canceled:


Certain information related to the opening of the seller’s account at CAX led Francois to pull the auctions, citing the following:

“Apparently domains for sale by Stuart Monney has been stollen. So we decided to cancel all the auctions from this buyer to prevent damages. We are sorry but it’s very difficult to detect stollen domains at submission because the email of the WHOIS owner is the same as the member. It’s only a serie of indices that alerted us about the possible scam. We apologize for the inconvenience.”

Earlier this week, another scammer attempted to sell the stolen domain first on various forums such as DNForum and Digital Point and then on Flippa and Afternic. While Flippa ended the auction and banned the seller, Afternic has yet to remove the stolen domain, from its marketplace.

With the proliferation of online marketplaces and venues listing domains for free, it’s to be expected that scammers will attempt to dispose of their stolen domains en masse, attempting to raise as little suspicion as possible.

WHOIS tools such as DomainTools that archive historical WHOIS data are extremely useful in identifying domains with dubious changes in ownership.

Copyright © 2022 · All Rights Reserved.


12 Responses to “Alert: Francois cancels auctions of Stolen Domains”
  1. Uzoma says:

    I thought MPH.COM was extra-ordinarily too good to be at CAX,COM and I was right.

  2. ryan says:
    That would have raised my suspicions immediately. When I seen those names listed I knew something was fishy !!!!.

  3. Shane says:

    Here’s the problem you have here Lucius. I came here thinking this was going to be a parody article and got a real one. Great info but it really is confusing. I can’t be the only one. Just trying to help

  4. Lucius "Guns" Fabrice says:

    Shane – See that 100% graphic? Learn it, love it. 😀

    Uzoma & Ryan – Nothing wrong with listing quality domains at every venue available. As long as one owns them, of course.

  5. Uzoma says:

    True, but to list MPH.COM with a $2500 reserve, knowing fully well that CAX is yet to have a wide or large number of buyers, say in the range that Sedo has cornered, leaves the domain owner vulnerable to low ball bid winners. I will pay $50,000 for MPH.

  6. Francois says:

    Uzoma you should have bought the name, the BIN was around $20K.

    Most of the domain names listed at are bargains submitted at So they are priced with a discount over 75% of their Estibot/Valuate appraisal. So the idea you locate a scammer because he sells for low is an error, you currently have hundred legitimate sellers offering their names for dozen thousands dollars of discount (reseller price) in our marketplace and this is why they make fast sales when the domain is attractive.

    What first alerted me is I contacted the buyer and he did not respond me, plus the fact it’s not a pair of names he listed but many, so it was more looking a liquidation than a sale at discount price to generate some cash flow. From there I digged and discovered:
    – He paid his membership with a Paypal account from Latvia (old republic of URSS).
    – He signed at with an offshore address in Panama.
    – Domain WHOIS were using a “fake” address (a UK PO box) and the phone was from the Isle of Mann (another ofshore location).
    – Their WHOIS were not private when they looks to be so concerned to hide their identity behind offshore addresses (but maybe it was to continue receiving offers).
    – They never respond from the chat they have on the site nor to any email I contacted.
    – They never complaint when I closed their account yesterday when I know they was regularly accessing it.

    I did not stop the auctions immediately because they are people that are very secretive, people that want to hide sales, … There is allways a chance that what looks a scam be in fact a legitimate sale.
    I have few days before the closing date to still search and have a conversation with the peop;e behind the account. Because this never happened then I assumed I could not let run such auctions without put our members at risk and decided to cancel the auctions and close the seller account.

  7. Uzoma says:

    Yeah Francois, I’m not blaming you on this one. If you check your IP, you’ll notice I was up late looking at purchasing MPH.COM, and one other domain from the guys portfolio, most of the domains listed in his portfolio at CAX were heavenly deals, I must have spent 40 minutes checking them out, and cross checking the WHOIS, etc…all the info jived with his record, except there was an update on the MPH.COM on the 17th of this month, and that was a little hinting..

    I’m still mad at you Francois, but no, you are not to blame for this.

  8. Cole says:

    Well done Francois! I was wondering what happened to those auctions.

  9. Ify says:

    Thanks Francois for saving members from being victim of those scammers.but i will advise you put up more security and investigations on domains offered for sale so that we all can trade safe.

    Please i would want you or other members to advise me on these domains,somebody is offering to buy them,but i was not able to tell them any thing yet because i dont want to make mistake ,Though i hope to sell to them at a very good discount,but i dont want to do it excessively.Please can you please tell me the value so that i can know what to do.

    See the domains below:


    I will appreciate your honest opinion for valuation.



  10. Francois says:

    Ify, this post is not the location to advertise your names, nor to ask for valuation help.
    We have a contact link in our site or you can simply visit

    As stated a pair of days ago in a newer post of finally he was the legitimate owner and some of his names are already listed again, like this famous domain Uzoma pretended he will buy for $50K

  11. Zonqor says:

    How come is advertising in the auction list that is estimated at $35,680 and on its appraised at only $20 ??? 🙂

  12. Mike C. says:

    Did Uzoma ever buy for $50,000 or was he “pretending”?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

 characters available